Diverse Reading Goals 2016

ICYMI someone I know only as Dan L. or @utterbiblio coined a handy little hashtag -#diversedecember- after the World Book Night 2016 list was announced and excluded any BAME writers (a useful acronym used in the UK to cover POC). The hashtag got people recommending authors of color and/or non-cis gender, diverse sexuality to give as gift books in the holiday season.

The hashtag grew up into an account @readdiverse2016 and the additional hashtags #readdiverse2016 and #diversereadinggoals to keep the party rolling into the new year.

I think (hope) I’m only fashionable late to the party as (before I knew about the hashtags) I decided that I will only read diverse authors in 2016 and I am so excited to do this across mediums (I listen to audiobooks and read multiples genres). And I will post about these works here.

I suck at games of exclusivity so there are some exceptions, mostly down to my backlog of audiobooks, but I feel like the universe is supporting me as a friend just recommended a BAME playwright. As soon as I can get my hands on some I will be start my #diversereadinggoals with Debbie Tucker Green.

What are you reading this year?

2 thoughts on “Diverse Reading Goals 2016

Leave a Reply

