Overdue/Hiatus

Hi February,

How are you? You’re half way over tomorrow. Unbelievable. Congratulations?

Gotta say, I really admire your spunk this year. More so than in other years. Okay, actually, probably for the first time ever. But boy did you outdo yourself with packing in elements of the good life. My dance card is so full of opportunities to be meaningfully involved in the lives of people I care about, I can barely breathe. And creativity? Wowza! You gifted me that in spades this month!

If I have a criticism, it’s that you’re sending kind of a mixed message with the weekly snow storms/inclement weather. Yeah, I know. You’re time. Not your area.  Still. Don’t you know somebody? Have a favor to call in?

Whatever. The point is I wanted to apologize a little for the neglect. I don’t want to make any false promises about future posts or how you’re going to look in my stats. But, yeah, as you’ve already figured out I’m taking some time off.

And I guess I’m writing to you about it because it’s not what you think. This is no generic ‘I’m busy.’ I’m not seeing other hobbies –Okay there’s sewing but I told you about him. I’m not even ‘working too hard.’ The problem this month is that I’m writing other stuff. It’s not even writing time that’s an issue it’s brain space to process, evolve, and release all the ideas. Doing that on two projects, one with a deadline, and the writing I have to do for work. Well, I’m spent when I get here. Mentally anyway. And it feels Herculean to transform my observations into prose. I hope you can forgive me and wish me luck!  I can’t wait to get back here to keep practicing the formulation of phrases that are rich with meaning. And I miss your soothing grayscale palette.

So, yeah. I’m out. Until I’m not. And it’s not you, it’s me. And the ideas. Which I think I caught from January. So blame her.

I’ll write soon!

Love,

Allison

Leave a Reply

