Meat Collective

Is not an avant-garde German noise band. Nor a male strip joint. But it may in fact be the best thing that ever happened to you (and me).

I’ve been on here before about all the themes in this post -Portland Meat Collective, butchery, meat, Kickstarter, and meat Kickstarters specifically. I hope my redundancy suggests how important I think this topic is, and isn’t just culinary bombast.

The Portland Meat Collective is a hands-on meat knowledge epicenter (my words not theirs) in Portland, Oregon. It is the ultimate and most honest farm to table experience an eater could have. Local farmers slaughter animals pre-purchased by class participants, who gather and learn-by-doing to butcher the animal and make the best of all of it. Classes are led by chefs, local butchers, and sometimes the farmers themselves. Students get to take home the meat they bought, and cut, and in some instances met on the farm. It is the way eating was. It is the way (I believe)  eating should be.

Luckily Camas Davis, founder of the Portland Meat Collective doesn’t think the rest of the country needs to look on in wordless, drooling jealousy. She wants to educate, enable, and empower other local meat faithful to establish such a collective in their hometowns. So she is running a Kickstarter campaign to fund: an educational pilot program in two cities, a new website, and educational materials to spread the gospel and help others make this inspired, important, community resource come true.

So put your money where your meat goes! Yes, I am asking you to donate to this Kickstarter campaign. Nothing much, just skip a latte tomorrow and kick in a fiver, or give the buck it all adds up! I’m going a hunnert because I believe in real meat that much. It has to be done. But more than your donation, please start down that awesome road of convincing your friends that this is important. Get people talking about where their meat came from at your next meal. Get friends thinking about whether or not they could eat a being they once knew. And, no joke, if any Boston area readers are thinking we should start our own meat collective, by all means let me know. I’m ready when you are.

P.S: I have no connection with The Portland Meat Collective, Camas Davis or Kickstarter. I am just a local, clean, humane meat zealot.

One comment

  1. Alli · April 4, 2013

    Of course, they’re in the New York Times now. Seems this article went up just about the time I was righting my post. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/04/07/magazine/the-proper-way-to-eat-a-pig.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0

Leave a Reply

