White Bean Spread

I’ve been navigating the food landscape this summer by cravings. At some point in July I had the urge for something healthy, delicious at any hour of the day, rich and subtle. I thought a white bean spread could deliver so I set out to make one.

A good white bean spread could be as simple as cooked beans pureed with olive oil salt and pepper. But I wanted a little more depth of flavor and another sweetness to play with the slight sweet quality of the bean. This is what I came up with.

2 Tablespoons thinly sliced clarified (heated briefly over low in a fat of your choice until clear) onions

2 Tablespoons diced roasted carrots (I used purple carrots. This was actually kind of unsightly)

1 15 oz can Great Northern Beans (I liked these over cannellini or navy)

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1/4 teaspoon sage

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/8 of a lemon seeded

2-3 Tablespoons veg or chicken broth (blend to desired consistency)

Salt to taste.
As noted you have to prep the onions and the carrots, and I like to let the beans drain for a while. But once all your ingredients are ready just bung it all in your blender or food processor and grind it up to the consistency you like.  Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

