31 Plays in 31 Days

Over the course of this summer, I adapted two plays for middle schoolers. I enjoyed it so much it made me think ‘maybe playwriting is the way for me to get back into writing consistently (blogging is clearly not doing the trick’ –and, yes I do think in parentheses.  Then, while hunting up playwriting competitions for inspiration, I stumbled on the 31 Plays in 31 Days Project. Think NaNoWriMo for playwrights.

No, it’s not food. So, I won’t be posting my plays here (unless they are somehow relevant). But it is writing which is, perhaps, the harder half of food writing. I could food-it-up and challenge myself to feature a food element in every play. An argument about the perfect meal could be a rousing scene. Or I could use Tom Robbins’  food nicknames device from Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas. That man taught me the word (and dessert) frangipane. But I digress.  The point of this post is to invite you to play (ha ha get it?…ahem…sorry) along for the writing practice, or adopt and adapt the idea (31 Plates in 31 Days anyone?), or spread the idea to your writer-ly friends and root for them. However, you engage please check it out and pass it on.
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

