Things on Tuesday: Original Gangsta Edition

People are often surprised to find out that I listen to rap. I am not at all surprised to find how much I turn to those rhythmic lyrics about overcoming adversity to drive me through rough periods (I owe Eminem a great debt for getting me through the winter 2003. “I been chewed up and spit out and booed offstage!”)

Anyway, here are 5 hip-hop lyrics that keep me striving:

  1. “…but I just got a question for you. Is you happy?” T.I – Why You Wanna
  2. “‘Cause the world is mine like that.” Ludacris – It Wasn’t Us
  3. “For me givin’ up’s way harder than tryin’.” Kanye West – Champion
  4. “I don’t care what you do for stacks. I know the world glued you back to the wall. You gotta brawl to that.” Jay-Z – Change Clothes
  5. “The hometown homies hate my name, I ain’t trippin’. I don’t retaliate, I don’t hate, I obliv’ ’em. Jé–sus ’round my neck, I’m a Christian, I forgive ’em.” Clipse (Malicious) – Blaze of Glory

 

Leave a Reply

